Neverwhere 15th Anniversary DVD Release


“Richard Richard Mayhew Dick”

BBC bring Neverwhere onto DVD for its 15th anniversary.

Neverwhere: 15th Anniversary Edition

This went some way to fill the void left by Doctor Who. IMHO Paterson Joseph (who plays Marquis de Carabas in Neverwhere) would have made an amazing Dr Who.

Neil Gaiman, along with co-writer Lenny Henry (The Lenny Henry Show, Chef!) and director Dewi Humphreys (The Vicar of Dibley), bring viewers into the two cities of London: Above, the genuine one, and Below, the one in your nightmares.

Grammy? Award winning record producer Brian Eno provides the music for this cult classic series. Along with all six episodes, the release hosts fresh bonus material including all new audio commentary and introduction with Gaiman, Henry, and producer Clive Brill. Plus the DVD will feature the original cover artwork as created in 1995 by artist/director Dave McKean .

In Neverwhere, Richard Mayhew (Gary Bakewell, Chef!) leads an ordinary life in London when one day a girl named Door (Laura Fraser, He Knew He Was Right) falls and injures herself across his path. Door belongs to a different world ? London Below ? and has come to London Above determined to learn why her parents have been killed. The next thing he knows, Mayhew?s life as he knew it is gone and he’s underground, pursued by the murderous messengers. The two attempt to find the Angel Islington, who knows the secret behind the murder of Door’s family, and possibly a way for Richard to go home.

More to explorer